The unemployment insurance (UI) program is administered by the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC). This UI program is designed to assist individuals who are unemployed in covering their basic expenses, while providing them with temporary compensation for lost wages due to unemployment.
According to state law, you must be completely or partially unemployed due to no fault of your own to qualify for UI benefits. Your reason for unemployment will need to be confirmed by your last employer; thus, he or she will be asked to complete a questionnaire regarding your separation from employment, and it will be used to verify the information you have provided in your claim. In the case that you are working part-time hours, you must be earning less than your weekly benefit amount to qualify for the UI program.
Work Search Requirement
To satisfy this requirement, you must be actively seeking employment and willing to take on any suitable job offer that is provided to you by the LWC. Moreover, you must submit a work search record at least once per month to ensure that you continue meeting this eligibility requirement. At the same time, you must register with the local LWC Job Center and attend workshops, training sessions, and interviews as required. If you choose to skip this step, you can be disqualified from the UI program.
Monetary Eligibility Requirement
This requirement states that you must have earned enough wages over the last 18 months in the state of Louisiana to receive benefits through the UI program. A specific 12-month period known as the “base period” will be used to determine your monetary eligibility, and it consists of the first four quarters out of the last five completed quarters. You must have earned at least $1200 in your base period, and the total wages of your base period must be equal to or greater than 1.5 times the most wages earned in one quarter. Apart from these conditions, the earnings from your base period will also be used to determine your weekly and maximum benefit amounts. In order to determine your weekly benefit, you will need to divide the total wages of your base period by 25 and multiply the result of this equation by 1.05. Next, you must multiply the result of the second equation by 1.15; this will give you a rough estimate of your weekly benefit amount. However, the state of Louisiana has set a maximum and minimum amount for UI benefits. Therefore, you cannot receive more than $247 per week or less than $10 per week in UI benefits.
How to File a Claim
All claims are processed through a web-based system known as HiRE, which is easy to use and user-friendly. Claims can also be filed by telephone using the Easy Call System; you can contact 1-866-783-5567. Before you can start the application process, you will need the following details:
- Social Security Number, address, and telephone number
- Driver’s license or identification card
- Employment history from the last 18 months, which includes the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of all your previous employers
- Exact dates of employment and reasons for separation for all positions mentioned
- Banking information if you wish to receive payments through direct deposit
- Alien registration number if you are not a U.S. citizen