In the state of Kansas, you must be completely or partially unemployed to be eligible for UI benefits. In all cases, you must be available to work, physically able to work, and actively seeking employment. For part-time workers, it is required that you report all of your earnings up until the day your UI claim is filed. Moreover, you are only eligible to receive UI benefits if you are earning less than 25 percent of your potential weekly benefit amount. In the case that you are receiving UI benefits and working on a part-time basis, a dollar-for-dollar deduction will be applied to your weekly earnings for any amount that exceeds 25 percent of your weekly benefit amount.
Before you can qualify for UI benefits, you must also meet a monetary eligibility requirement. This condition states that you must have earned enough wages in your “base period” to be eligible for UI benefits. The base period is made up of 12-months and more specifically, the first four quarters out of the last five completed quarters of the calendar year. Your earnings from this period, which is also known as your base period earnings, will be used to determine your weekly and maximum benefit amounts. For instance, your weekly benefit amount will be calculated by dividing your total base period earnings by 26. You can also do this by determining the most wages earned in one quarter of your base period, which is also known as your “high quarter.” Then, you can multiply this amount by 4.5, and the result will be a rough estimate of your potential weekly benefit amount.
Similarly, your maximum benefit amount will be approximately one-third your total base period wages or 26 times your weekly benefit amount; whichever is less out of the two options will be used as your maximum benefit amount. According to state law, you can receive a maximum of $456 per week in UI benefits, whereas the minimum amount you can receive is $114 per week. However, you will not know the exact amount you are eligible to receive until you have submit a UI claim. Thereafter, you will receive a “Monetary Determination” that will tell you how much you are eligible for and for how many weeks you can benefit from the UI program.
How to File a Claim
You should submit a UI claim as soon as you become unemployed or your hours have been significantly reduced. This will ensure you are covered and financially compensated for each week that you are unemployed. You can submit your UI claim online or you can apply by telephone using the toll-free number for Kansas City, which is 1-913-596-3500. In order to complete the application process, you will need your Social Security Number (SSN), current address, phone number, personal email address, as well as an additional piece of identification. You will also need the details of your employment history from the last 18 months, which includes the dates of employment, contact details of all your previous employers, and the reasons for separation from the positions mentioned.